Breitkopf & Härtel

Contact details

  • Walkmühlstr. 52
  • 65195 Wiesbaden
  • Germany

This presentation is also available in the following languages


Please log in to view users’s details

About Us

Take me directly to Our products

Breitkopf & Härtel, founded in Leipzig in 1719, is the oldest music publishing company in the world today. It was already dealing with the leading composers of the day back in the 18th century, and through its personal contacts many celebrated works were first printed, including music by Beethoven, Mendelssohn, Schumann, Liszt, Wagner, Brahms, Busoni and Sibelius. Breitkopf & Härtel continues this tradition today with internationally successful "radical contemporaries" such as Helmut Lachenmann and others.

The publishing house made a new beginning in Wiesbaden in 1945 and founded a subsidiary in Paris in 1984. After the reunification of Germany, the former parent house in Leipzig was restored to the publisher in 1991. The following year, Breitkopf & Härtel acquired the Deutscher Verlag für Musik, Leipzig (DVfM), in 2000 the publishing house Musica Rara (Monteux, France) and 2011 the Nepomuk Musik Verlag (Basel). As of 21 March 2012 Breitkopf & Härtel is taking over the performance materials of the Eulenburg Orchestral Series (EOS). Since 2003 Breitkopf & Härtel is cooperating with the publisher G. Henle (Munich) in the field of the Urtext performance materials of orchestral works.

With the complete editions of the works of Mendelssohn (since 1997), Sibelius (since 1998) and Eisler (since 2002), Breitkopf & Härtel is picking up the tradition of the great cycles of collected works from the 19th century. Under the "Breitkopf Pädagogik" seal of quality, the publishing house also emphasizes its deep commitment to new music-pedagogical concepts. And with "Breitkopf Urtext" – some editions of which are coproduced with Henle Verlag, Munich – the publisher guarantees musicologically flawless performing editions for interpreters around the world. The 10-volume-edition “Johann Sebastian Bach – Complete Organ Works” (2010ff) includes for the first time the recent Edirom technique under the demands of an Urtext edition which is primarily practically conceived . Breitkopf & Härtel's editions are regularly awarded German Music Edition Prizes.


Bach: Complete Organ Works in 10 Volumes

Editorial Board: Werner Breig / Pieter Dirksen / Reinmar Emans • music text faithful to the...

Breitkopf & Härtel Walkmühlstr. 52 65195 Wiesbaden Germany +49 6128/966321

Exhibitor at the following trade fair

Musikmesse 2016

07.04.2016 - 10.04.2016 Hall: 8.0 Stand: E 42